

## **Terms of Reference**

Prophylaxis Committee of the Association of Hemophilia Clinic Directors of Canada		
Preamble	Prophylaxis is defined as the regular infusion of clotting factor concentrates in anticipation of and in order to prevent bleeding. This form of therapy is an extremely important form of treatment for individuals with severe bleeding disorders in Canada.	
Role	The role of the Prophylaxis Committee is two-fold: First, to continue conducting research in the area of clotting factor prophylaxis for all ages by facilitating long-standing collaborations between Canadian Centres. Secondly, to advise the AHCDC regarding the use of prophylaxis in Canada.	
Membership	A minimum of 5 and maximum of 8 AHCDC members who have an interest in and are committed to the roles of the committee.	
	Representation from Pediatric and Adult Centres.	
	One Ex-officio members each from physiotherapy (1) and nursing (1) $(1)$ .	
Chair	Appointed by the AHCDC Executive initially and subsequently elected by/from the committee membership.	
Term	For the first term, 2 committee members will be appointed for a 1 year term, 3 will be appointed for 2 year term and the remainder including the Chair will be appointed for a 3 year term. Thereafter, all members including the Chair will serve a 3 year term and may be re-appointed for a second term.	
Meetings	The committee will meet regularly by teleconference at least every 6 months and as needed. The committee will attempt to meet in person annually at the AHCDC AGM. Other communication will be via email. The Chair may call a meeting at any time for urgent business.	
Resources	AHCDC will support the cost of teleconferences.	
Reporting	The committee will report annually in writing to the membership of the Association and to the Executive for active issues, as needed.	



## Membership List (As of November 5, 2013)

## Prophylaxis Committee of the Association of Hemophilia Clinic Directors of Canada

Chair:	Dr. Shannon Jackson
AHCDC Members:	Dr. Victor Blanchette (Past-Chair)
	Dr. Manuel Carcao
	Dr. Robert Klaassen
	Dr. MacGregor Steele
	Dr. Donald Houston
	Dr. Mark Belletrutti
	Dr. Christine Sabapathy

Ex-Officio: Karen Strike (PT)